Forums General Discussion The aftermath of vBulletin's Zero-Day Fault.

Keywords : , ,

2 topics 1 to 2 (out of a total of 2)

  • Author
    Messages
  • Nicolas CoolmanNicolas Coolman
    • Administrator
    @nicocoolmann
    Nombre d'articles : 2040

    The aftermath of vBulletin's Zero-Day Fault.

    September 2019, an unknown security researcher has published a 0day flaw affecting vBulletin, one of the most popular CMS on the web to host discussion forums.

    The flaw allowed PHP and shell commands to be executed without the need for authentication from the attacker, which exposed many forums to potentially destructive attacks. (Read more)

    vBulletin is a business discussion forum software developed by Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.. Written in PHP and using the MySQL database, it is comparable to other forum systems such as Invision Power Board, phpBB or Simple Machines Forum. Wikipedia

    Zero-day vulnerability

    In the field of computer security, a Zero-day vulnerability (in french : Zero-day) is a computer vulnerability was the subject of any publication or having no known fix. The existence of a such flaw on a product mean that no protection exists, whether palliative or final. Zero-day terminology does not qualify the seriousness of the fault : as any vulnerability, its severity depends on the importance of the damage that can be caused, and the existence of a feat, that is a technique exploiting this loophole in order to drive unwanted actions on the product concerned.
    (Sources)

    Nicolas CoolmanNicolas Coolman
    • Administrator
    @nicocoolmann
    Nombre d'articles : 2040

    MIA patch for vBulletin remains vulnerable

    With a severity score of 9.8 CVSS 3.x scale, CVE-2019-16759 fault found in September 2019 in the forum software vBulletin had been corrected. Not enough, points to a security researcher who made three POCs to show it. (Read more)

2 topics 1 to 2 (out of a total of 2)
  • You need to be logged in to answer about it.

Forums Discussion Générale Les suites de la faille Zero-Day de vBulletin.

Mots-clés : , ,

2 sujets de 1 à 2 (sur un total de 2)

  • Auteur
    Messages
  • Nicolas CoolmanNicolas Coolman
    • Administrateur
    @nicocoolmann
    Nombre d'articles : 2038

    Les suites de la faille Zero-Day de vBulletin.

    En septembre 2019, un chercheur en sécurité inconnu a publié une faille 0day affectant vBulletin, l’un des CMS les plus populaires sur le web pour héberger des forums de discussions.

    La faille permettait d’exécuter du code PHP et des commandes shell sans nécessiter d’authentification de la part de l’attaquant, ce qui exposait de nombreux forums à des attaques potentiellement destructrices. (Lire la suite)

    vBulletin est un logiciel de forum de discussions commercial développé par Jelsoft Entreprises Ltd. Écrit en PHP et utilisant la base de données MySQL, il est comparable aux autres systèmes de forums tels que Invision Power Board, phpBB ou encore Simple Machines Forum. Wikipédia

     Vulnérabilité Zero day

    Dans le domaine de la sécurité informatique, une vulnérabilité Zero day (en français : Jour zéro) est une vulnérabilité informatique n'ayant fait l'objet d'aucune publication ou n'ayant aucun correctif connu. L'existence d'une telle faille sur un produit implique qu'aucune protection n'existe, qu'elle soit palliative ou définitive. La terminologie zero day ne qualifie pas la gravité de la faille : comme toute vulnérabilité, sa gravité dépend de l'importance des dégâts pouvant être occasionnés, et de l'existence d'un exploit, c'est-à-dire d'une technique exploitant cette faille afin de conduire des actions indésirables sur le produit concerné.
    (Sources)

    Nicolas CoolmanNicolas Coolman
    • Administrateur
    @nicocoolmann
    Nombre d'articles : 2038

    LMIUn patch pour vBulletin reste vulnérable

    Avec un score de sévérité de 9.8 sur l’échelle CVSS 3.x, la faille CVE-2019-16759 trouvée en septembre 2019 dans le logiciel de forum vBulletin avait été corrigée. Pas suffisamment, pointe un chercheur en sécurité qui a réalisé trois PoC pour le montrer. (Lire la suite)

2 sujets de 1 à 2 (sur un total de 2)
  • Vous devez être connecté pour répondre à ce sujet.